Who We Are

We are women of purpose. Our mission is to raise funds and awareness for this very special hospital, where no child is ever denied the very best of care, regardless of ability to pay. Our hospital provides almost $40 million annually in charity and uncompensated care for our ever-increasing geographic area. Wolfson depends upon The Women’s Board, and we depend upon and need you to partner with us.

The Women’s Board was formed in 1973 as the result of a sweet baby girl, Abbie Ray Martin, who died because Wolfson, at that time, did not have the equipment to sustain her fragile life. From that tragedy has bloomed triumph. The Women’s Board has raised more than $28 million for Wolfson, saving life after precious little life.

From an initial 41 members, we have grown to more than 400. We are all volunteers who believe in this very special mission, and all that we do is FOR THE CHILDREN.

The Women’s Board is led by the President and Executive Committee, which include Vice Presidents, Chairs of our Events, Treasurer and Secretary, and other vital positions. Our Advisory Board is made up of Past Presidents. We have a staff that includes our Director Sally Parsons, Accountant John Adcox, Finance Coordinator Ginny Douberly and Administrative Assistant June Duncan. We have almost 400 volunteer members, as well as many additional volunteers. We depend upon the vital partnership and support of our community sponsors, both corporate and individual, whose gifts enable us to do the amazing things we do for Wolfson Children’s Hospital.

Becoming a member of The Women’s Board requires a high level of commitment. We track potential members and require a minimum of three years of service before membership is considered. This is a big reason for our members’ high level and long-term commitment. Our members are members for life, as most continue to volunteer year after year after year.

During a coffee reception in April the Executive Committee welcomed 24 new members to The Women’s Board (see photo below).


(Front row, from left) Patton Weber, Meridith Allen, Joy McDonald, Sims
Wachholz, Lindsey Riggs, Christy Blake, Holly Keris, Leah Kennelly.
(Back row, from left) Heather Houston, April Young, Michelle Megas, Miko
Burgstiner, Stephanie Milne, Shannon Huie, Leigh Smith, Stephanie Harden,
Megan Denk. Not pictured: Beville Anderson, Ann Evans, Liz Grenamyer, Wendy Hellman,
Melinda Jenkins, Cary MacRae, Cameron White.






Mrs. Tillman Cavert Jr. (Ellen),2015 Eve Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Click here to learn more about Ellen Calvert and how the Women’s Board began.

PRESIDENT 2017-2018


Mrs. Elizabeth H. Langley

Click here to learn more about our new president.


Mrs. Mark M. Hutto  (Frances)
Mrs. Christopher M. Kirby  (Jan)
Mrs. Stephen J. Kunz (Kelley)


Mrs. William M. Forrester (Katherine)
Mrs. Gilbert J. Pomar., III (Jane)


Mrs. David T. Albaneze (Robin)
Mrs. William D’Antignac (Judy)


Mrs. Tillman Cavert Jr. (Ellen), Founder and Chair Emerita
Mrs. L. Johnson Sarber III (Grace), President
Mrs. Elizabeth H. Langley (Beth), President Elect
Mrs. Troy Andrade (Roxane), Vice President of Florida Forum
Mrs. Glen R. Feeley (Susan), Vice President of Strategic Planning
Jane Pomar, Vice President of Fund Development, Strategic Planning Committee
Kendra McCrary, Treasurer, Strategic Planning Committee
Mrs. Fred T. Stapp (Deborah), Secretary
Mrs. David T. Albaneze (Robin), 2016-17 Florida Forum Chair
Ms. Caroline Brinton, Membership Chair
Mrs. William D. Brinton (Cathy), Advisory
Mrs. Harold H. Catlin (Juli), Strategic Planning Committee Chair
Sheila Collier, 2015 Art & Antiques Show Chair
Mrs. Daniel W. Connell Jr. (Mary), Advisory
Mrs. William M. D’Antignac (Judy), 2016-17 Florida Forum Chair
Mrs. T. Wayne Davis (Kitty), Diaper Day Chair
Mrs. Hugh M. Durden (Wendy), Advisory
Mrs. Carle A. Felton Jr. (Nancy), Abbie Award Chair, Spring Luncheon Chair
Mrs. William M. Forrester Jr. (Katherine), Fall Gathering Chair
Ms. Kaye R. Glover, Advisory
Mrs. Henry H. Graham Jr. (Diane), Advisory
Mrs. Gary F. Hannon (Karen), Spring Luncheon Chair
Mrs. Julie Howard, Newsletter Editor
Mrs. R. Stephen Lucie (Sharon), Hospitality Chair
Mrs. H. Michael Magevney IV (Laura), Fall Gathering Chair
Mrs. R. Charles Martin Jr. (Christy), 2015 Art & Antiques Show Chair, Fund Development Committee
Mrs. J. Kirk Martin (Vicki), Advisory
Mrs. Michael J. Miller (Susie), Historian, Strategic Planning Committee
Mrs. Ricardo Morales III (Amy), Strategic Planning Committee, Fund Development Committee
Mrs. James F. Moseley Jr. (Heather), 2016 Art & Antiques Show Chair, Fund Development
Mrs. Kevin M. Neal (Anna), 2016 Art & Antiques Show Chair, Fund Development
Mrs. Frederick D. Page (Lisa), Member at Large
Mrs. Robert D. Parrish (Forrest), Strategic Planning Committee
Mrs. Michael B. Phillips (Connie), Member at Large
Mrs. Jerald H. Pietan (Mary), Advisory
Mrs. Mark L. Rosenberg (Natalie), Fall Gathering Chair
Miss K. Kelley Shaw, Spring Luncheon Chair
Mrs. Russell R. Skinner Jr. (Simmons), Social Media Chair
Mrs. Bruce A. Smathers (Susan), Advisory, Strategic Planning Committee
Mrs. Robert L. Stein (Polly), Advisory
Mrs. B. DeWitt Storm (Kathy), Advisory
Mrs. Bradford G. Thoburn (Dearing), 2016 Art & Antiques Show Chair
Miss Erin Wolfson, Patient Profile Chair
Mrs. Donald M. Wolfson (Karen), Advisory, Strategic Planning Committee


Mrs. William D. Brinton (Cathy)
Mrs. Tillman Cavert Jr. (Ellen)
Mrs. Daniel W. Connell, Jr. (Mary)
Mrs. Hugh M. Durden (Wendy)
Ms. Kaye R. Glover
Mrs. Henry H. Graham, Jr. (Diane)
Mrs. Beth Langley
Mrs. J. Kirk Martin (Vicki)
Mrs. Jerald H. Pietan (Mary)
Mrs. L. Johnson Sarber III (Grace)
Mrs. Bruce A. Smathers (Susan)
Mrs. Robert L. Stein (Polly)
Mrs. B. DeWitt Storm (Kathy)
Mrs. Donald M. Wolfson (Karen)

Past Florida Forum Chairs

Past Art & Antiques Show Chairs

For The Children

Contact Us

1325 San Marco Boulevard, Suite 802
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Phone: 904.202.2886
Fax: 904.202.2778
Email: womensboard@bmcjax.com